chenaraw

A place for healthy inspiration

She lives! July 2, 2012

Filed under: My Blog Posts — chenaraw @ 11:09 pm
Tags: ,

Hello!

I am happy to report that I have not fallen off the face of the planet, although, I completely understand if you thought that I did. Finals followed by huge life changes and utter exhaustion have kept me out of the kitchen and away from my blog.

If you’re expecting some great recipes now that I’m back, I hope that I can deliver, but I make no promises as my diet is undergoing some major changes. I am starting a Hashimoto’s specific diet. I saw a new doctor the other day for something completely unrelated and as we were discussing my medical history, I told her about my hypothyroidism and she asked me if I have Hashimoto’s disease. I had never even had a doctor mention it to me! She suggested that I look into it and, wow! It explains so many symptoms that I have had throughout the years including my gut problems improving by taking out gluten and eating lots of vegetables, but still not being completely resolved. I also hope that following this diet will improve my intensely painful periods.

Hashimoto’s disease is an autoimmune disease that causes your body to attack your thyroid. I’m not a medical professional, but it is my understanding that a leaky gut can trigger Hashimoto’s so in order to treat the cause of my hypothyroidism and to cause my thyroid to not be further damaged, I need to do some serious gut repair.

A Hashimoto’s diet is a huge undertaking. I will not be eating grains, soy, legumes, high sugar fruits, or nutritive sweeteners. Check out this link for a complete list. I will be making one change to these recommendations, that is, I will be eating nuts and seeds that have been soaked and then dehydrated as this makes them easier to digest and far less likely to cause an immune response.

I’ll keep you updated on my progress and will hopefully come up with some delicious eats!

Until later,

Nicki

 

2 Responses to “She lives!”

  1. Good to see you back, but sorry to hear about the Hashimoto disease. Amber of Almost Vegan Chef is going through the same thing right now. She’s been blogging about it. You should check out her site: http://almostveganchef.com/2012/04/03/coming-clean-my-battle-with-hashimotos-disease/

  2. Lisa Says:

    Wow–it sounds like you have a lot going on! The hashimoto’s is a starting point–now you can focus specifically! Interestingly, I have two clients with this, and when I did the research for them and found the link between leaky gut (the gliadin in gluten closely resembling a thyroid hormone, thus causing the immune system to screw up and start attacking the thyroid in addition to the leaking gluten…) and thyroid health, it was a huge revelation for their health-path. Both had gut issues, and no doctor had ever linked it to their thyroid issues (but hey, it seems as though everything is quite connected, doesn’t it?).
    I’m glad you’re on your way with working on this–I’ll be interested in reading how it goes for you!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.