chenaraw

A place for healthy inspiration

Juice Fast Recap March 15, 2012

Filed under: My Blog Posts — chenaraw @ 11:42 am
Tags: , ,

You’ve probably been wondering where I’ve been these past few days.

Let me begin where I left off…


When I last blogged Sunday afternoon, my second day of juice fasting, I had yet to feel any serious hunger or experience any sleep disruption aside from intensely vivid dreams. As Sunday afternoon expired into evening, I began to feel slightly hungry, but nothing major. As the night progressed, my hunger grew and insomnia followed. I ended up drinking a cup of grapefruit juice and falling asleep around 2:30 am. I was afraid I would wake up ravenous; however I felt great!

On the morning of day 3, Monday, I had tons of energy- not enough that I could go for a jog, but enough that I had intense mental clarity. I did notice two things. Firstly my skin was super dry! It gets dried out pretty easily living in the cold and dry climate that I do, but this was beyond normal. Secondly, I woke up on Monday with little pimples which is something I hardly ever get. I’m told this is a symptom of detoxification.

It was on this day that I realized how psychologically attached I am to eating. It wasn’t that I was hungry… I just missed the act of eating! I know this sounds really weird….I just wanted to put things in my mouth and chew!

What I realllly longed for though, was a great workout. I had taken a walk on both my first and second days of the fast, but simply could not muster the energy for anything more. My muscles were begging to burn!

Although I had started out the day feeling great, by the time I got home from work, I simply felt depleted and run-down. I had begun my fast on Friday night and decided to break it Monday evening. I feel like I could have fasted for much longer had I been able to rest during my fast instead of working for every day of it. I was expelling a lot of energy and, particularly on Monday as I couldn’t get to sleep Sunday night, not getting as much rest as I think I needed to continue the fast. I felt like I could not keep up with my busy daily schedule and did not have the luxury of taking time. When researching the fast, I found a number of doctors that recommend that patients with diseases such as Crohn’s and IBS do a 1-3 day juice fast. Admittedly, I did feel like a bit of a wuss for breaking my fast early, but with this information in mind, I sat down to eat.

I was expected that I might be tired during the fast; however, I did not take into consideration how I was going to feel when I began reintroducing solid food into my diet. I was exhausted! This digestion business really is hard work! I fell asleep shortly after breaking my fast on Monday and almost immediately when I finished work on Tuesday! I was simply exhausted. As I said, I was not anticipating that. I finally had enough energy last night, Wednesday, to get my booty back to the gym. Ahhh… it felt incredible! I did 25 minutes on the stepmill, followed by a nice ab workout- it had been a few weeks since my stomach felt good enough to do an ab workout!- and ended with stretching.

I’m glad that I did the fast. It was a great way to reset my system and figure out what foods are truly disrupting my digestion.

click for source

….*Drum Roll*….

Here are things that I have been able to reintroduce into my diet without causing an angry belly:

wilted greens

green peas

apple (with the skin)

sweet potato (with the skin)

black beans

romaine

tuna

blueberries

steamed broccoli

roasted beets

cocoa

balsamic vinegar

decaf coffee

…something is telling me that fiber isn’t the problem here…

Here are things that I have not been able to eat without digestive disruption:

avocado

sunflower / pumpkin seed butter

tahini

coconut

pili nuts

Are you thinking what I’m thinking?

FATS!

I think that I’m having a hard time digesting fats.

It’s no wonder that I couldn’t figure out what was disrupting my stomach! Between nuts, seeds, avocado, coconut, milks, butters, and oils, I was consuming fat every time that I ate!

Here’s the game plan. For the next few weeks, I am going to eat a very low fat diet and see how I feel. Depending upon how it goes, I might begin adding in small amounts of fats to see how my digestion handles it. I’m also curious to see how my stomach responds to the reintroduction of my DHA supplement. I’ll keep you posted!

I’m really excited to hear what you, my loyal readers, think about my experience!

Nicki

 

6 Responses to “Juice Fast Recap”

  1. Wow! I missed three posts. So glad I decided to catch up. I’ve been busy painting the inside of my house. My kitchen is blue now. Need to make a video sometime to show it off.

    I’m impressed with your fast. I could never do it. I hope you get your digestion figured out and that you can have fats in moderation.

  2. Lisa Says:

    Wow—that is SO interesting!
    Of course, I am the queen of fats and I would be extremely sad not to have them. But I know everyone has different needs. The one thing that came to mind was that at some point you could test the fat intake with an enzyme supplement….if that helped, then you’d know that for some reason your body isn’t producing enough lipase. I don’t know how to fix that, but it might be interesting to explore!
    I think juice fasting is so interesting—I feel like I want to do it again sometime, and at the same time, I don’t think I’ll ever find the “perfect” time to do it. It’s amazing how much you can find out about yourself in just a little while!

  3. Kathy Says:

    I was waiting anxiously to see how the juice fast ended up. I am proud of you. It sounds like it would be a very hard to do.But leave it to you if it sounds hard it’s something you just might have to give it a try. In only three days of reintroducing foods you can tell what works and what doesn’t? I hope you are getting all your energy back! Try not to leave us hanging for so long. I miss reading what’s going on with you. Love ya!

  4. How interesting! Well done on completing the fast and discovering your problems could be fat related. I would not be a happy camper if I couldn’t have my fats… I need them to feel full and keep my calories up as I lose weight easily.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.