chenaraw

A place for healthy inspiration

Juice Fast Day 2 March 11, 2012

Day two of my juice fast- woo hoo!

Needless to say, I am in a much better mood than yesterday. My headache is gone as is my fogginess o’ the brain.

I had super complex and vivid dreams last night. I’ve been reading a lot about juice fasting and this appears to be a common occurrence. Last nights dreams were particularly entertaining as I am reading A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin. All night long it was woods, knights, battles, and countrysides. Now if only I had a few free days to finish off the book and read the whole series!

The second thing that I noticed upon waking was that I wasn’t hungry. I had anticipated my stomach to be screaming for breakfast, but it was completely calm.

You may not know this, but I have eruptive cystic acne. I have tried what I thought was everything (aside from going on birth control, but that is a topic for a different time). Anyway, shortly before or during my period, I get this little cysts that erupt into little sores. The sores take a long time to heal- like a month. By the time they’ve healed, I have my period and get them again. They stay consistently red and inflamed regardless of how much I clean them or what I apply to them. As I’m sure you’ve guessed, I hate it! People comment on it a lot, always asking me what I’ve done assuming that I’ve gotten some sort of weird scrape or something so I try to keep it covered which isn’t too hard as the most common spots for the cysts are on my chest and arms. My upper arms also get these tiny little bumps on them that sometimes get red and blotchy. Anyway, since I had tried everything I could think of to get rid of them, I had gotten to the point of acceptance that it was just going to be something I had to deal with.

It is at this point I should mention that the community acupuncturist that I was seeing last year insisted that my skin condition was being caused by an unknown food that I was having a hard time digesting. In response to this, I gave up rice. Which helped some, but not completely. (If you’re interested in a great community acupuncture clinic in Fairbanks, check out AcuTribe Community Acupuncture on Facebook!).

Why, you may ask, am I suddenly ‘airing my dirty laundry’? Yesterday, the sores on my arms and chest looked red and angry as usual. This morning, those red, gross sores that usually take a month to heal, were not red at all and almost completely healed! I just sat there staring at my arms in awe! I wish I would have taken before and after photos as you have to see it to believe it. Since I have been so focused on healing my digestion, I had not even considered how this juice fast would affect my skin. It looks fabulous! I am thrilled. Thrilled! In theory, I knew that digestion affects the skin, but I hadn’t dreamed of such drastic results. Let’s hope that awesome healing is happening internally as well!

Today, day two of my juice fast, my skin is amazing, my mood is great, and my mental clarity is awesome! hehe and my kitchen is now clean. ;) I don’t feel like I could go for a jog or lift weights, but I have the energy to do all of my other ‘normal’ activities. I was expecting to still feel miserable today, perhaps even worse than yesterday, but today I feel positively glowing.

As a side note, when I was researching juicing, I read that some people stop taking their medications while juicing. I take natural thyroid medication and did not stop taking it during my fast. And yes, for those of you that are wondering, I initially attempted to heal my thyroid with herbs, diet, and exercise and just kept getting sicker.

Anyway, so far so good on the juice fast front. I’ll keep you posted!

Nicki

 

5 Responses to “Juice Fast Day 2”

  1. funkalunatic Says:

    I still need to read those. My brother recommended that I watch the HBO series before reading the book, but I don’t know if I’m going to do that. Have you considered at the end of your juicing doing a tiered/structured reintroduction of solid foods, like after an elimination diet? Or trying a low-residue diet? If it’s a single thing causing the problem, a binary search /bisection would to find it in log_2 (N) time. Realistically, it’s probably a class of things, so you could probably improve on that time.

    • chenaraw Says:

      Why watch the series before reading the books?? I always like to do it the other way around. I am going to do a structured reintroduction of foods like an elimination diet. :) Nice catch! I have never heard of a low-residue diet… I’ll look into it. Hehehehehe The rest of your comment made me super happy… oh numerical analysis….

  2. Lisa Says:

    Wow. Great update. Glad you’re feeling better, and I’m super interested in the skin thing.
    I have battled with to skin issues since I was 12 (and then surrendered finally last year and found some answers). The birth control topic is of great interest to me in relation to that too—as it helped my skin, but caused me some other long-term issues that I’m still dealing with 3 years later.
    Anyway—the skin thing is SO interesting, and the relationship to food is intriguing. I’ll be following to see how this turns out for you–and also how the food re-introducing goes too.

  3. Ela Says:

    That’s awesome about your skin healing! Amazing good news. Of course, the skin is the primary elimination organ, so you must have done some serious cleanup.

    I take natural thyroid too–and I think it would be a super-bad idea to quit taking it during a fast, as your t3 will naturally go lower when you fast anyway, and you want to be functional and not a total zombie ;) It definitely affects my energy–I’m even more in awe of your athleticism if you have thyroid trouble.
    love
    Ela


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.