chenaraw

A place for healthy inspiration

First Day of my juice fast and awesome shoes! March 10, 2012

Filed under: My Blog Posts — chenaraw @ 9:24 pm
Tags: , , ,

Hello everyone!

You’ve all been giving me a ton of love recently and I really appreciate it! Thanks for being so great!

Speaking of great people, have you checked out ShannonMarie of Rawdorable? She was the winner of my pecan pie baby contest and she featured my creations on her blog. Woo! Rawdorable is really fun and if you haven’t checked it out yet, I highly recommend it!

Today is the first day of my first ever juice fast. I’m trying to post snip-its of what I’m juicing on Facebook, so if you’re interested, Like ChenaRaw.

Where to begin… Firstly, I feel like I don’t have very much energy… ugh. This will probably be a very short post as I am forcing myself to write it. On Saturdays I usually plunge head-first into making my kitchen sparkling clean, creating new recipes, and most recently, blogging. Not today. I just can’t bring myself to do it. I also have a slight headache and a little ‘brain fog’. I curled this morning and went for a 45 minute walk this afternoon, so I was able to do some physical activity.

To be truthful, at this point I would probably be asking myself if maybe I was making some sort of mistake doing this cleanse. As you can tell, I am a wee bit miserable. EXCEPT…

Oh my belly! I can’t remember the last time I had a happier belly. Today has been a day of no bloating, abdominal discomfort, or cramping. A whole entire day! AN ENTIRE DAY! Woo! In case you are just tuning in, for months I thought I had my irritable digestion fairly under control, but for the past two weeks, it doesn’t seem to matter what I do or don’t eat, food = angry belly. :( I have resorted to juice fasting as a means to allow my digestive track to get cleaned out and to heal. To heal from what, I’m not sure, but something isn’t quite right…

I was originally planning a juice fast for all of spring break; however, I will be participating in events later in the week that will not allow me to continue fasting. I could feasibly fast for 5 days, but have decided to re-evaluate at the end of day 3.

I have been supplementing my juice intake with kombucha and I am glad I did as it gives me noticeably more energy than juice alone.

Okay, now that I have probably depressed you with my lack o’ food woes, I feel obliged to share something fun with you. My sister just opened an Etsy store! She makes and sells blingtastic shoes.

They’re not all heels.

So far she has been making sales by word of mouth, but now she has opened her talents to the world! She makes custom orders too, so if you want something special, let her know.  And guess what? She just made me a pair! To check them out, go to her Etsy shop, ShoesByKatie, on the left hand side find shop info and click on sales.

Here’s the latest pair she posted. Can you imagine how awesome the fringe will look when the wearer is walking or dancing?!?! I might have to start wearing heels just so I can have a pair of these…

AND, since she just opened her store, she is having a Grand Opening Sale for the entire month of March. Woo hoo!

Thanks for listening to me gush about my sister’s shop- I’m just so proud of her! It was a great distraction from thoughts of the foods that I’m craving, which are: sweet potatoes, steamed broccoli, and my raw english muffins with sunflower seed butter… mmmm!

Stay tuned for more updates on my fast!

P.S. Some people call it a juice feast. hahaha They’re silly! :P

 

7 Responses to “First Day of my juice fast and awesome shoes!”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Hope you are feeling better on your 2nd day! I love hearing about your juice fast and your days!! Love ya!

  2. You are going to feel amazing tomorrow! I think day 2 is often the worst. Looking forward to hearing About the rest!

  3. Lisa Says:

    Wow— the shoes are fun! I’m not a heel-wearer myself, but I like the idea of the fringe!
    Interesting about the juice/belly thing you have going on. I’m really interested to see how this goes for you. And also…I think re-evaluating after 3 days is a great idea!

  4. Thanks for the shout out. You’re so sweet. And, cute shoes. Your sister is very talented :-)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.